“The First Shampoo” Hair Treatment by Sweet Hair

Last week, my mum coaxed me to get a hair straightening treatment done. I was a bit reluctant at first, simply because I’ve heard so many things about hair straightening treatments, but I went ahead with it- and I’m so glad I did!

I have wavy hair that is super frizzy.  At the nape of my neck, I have a few curls. It’s super annoying when I tie my hair up because they get exposed. My driver’s license photo also looks pretty crap because my hair was frizzy; but to be fair, I was stressed that day.

I’m on holiday now (Varsity is closed, and I passed all my exams- YAY!) and I was hoping to grow my hair during this time. This meant limiting the amount of heat I would apply to my hair. I completely cut out using my GHD and hairdryer before my mum booked me in for the treatment. 

So what is The First Shampoo Treatment? Its very similar to a Brazilian Blow-Wave (a.k.a. Keratin Treatment) but the process is quicker and the end result is easier to achieve! A straightening shampoo (called The First Shampoo) is used on the hair to change its natural shape and is said to last for 3-4 months. The shampoo used contains: salicylic acid, alpha lipoic acid, glycolic acid, lactic acid and hyaluronic acid. It took the company two years to develop this amazing shampoo.

homepage-br-shampoo

My experience at the hair salon:
As soon as I got to the hair salon, the hair-dresser explained the whole process to me and what I should expect.

💆🏻She draped a towel around my back and wet my hair. She then proceeded to apply The First Shampoo  to my hair. The smell of the shampoo was so heavenly!
💆🏻The shampoo was left in my hair for 20 minutes. I did experience a tingling sensation. It felt like someone was pinning needles into my scalp. This sensation was short-lived and was only in the front portion of my scalp.
💆🏻It was washed off and then my hair was blow-dried thoroughly. During the blow-drying process a few fumes were released.

💆🏻My hair was then straightened using a Bionic hair straightener. A LOT of fumes were released here! Although that sounds scary, there was no reason to fret! The fumes are non-toxic, unlike the fumes released from a Brazilian blow-wave. (This part took the longest)
💁🏻After my hair was straightened, I was in awe! My hair had never been that straight ever! It looked so shiny and really healthy. I was a happy chappy.

My hairdresser told me that I would still have my wavy hair, it would just be more “tame”. The treatment would last me about three months. This obviously depends on how often you wash your hair. She also told me that when I use my hairdryer or straightener to style my hair, it would “activate” the treatment! Pretty cool, right?

I am not required to use any special shampoos or products! I can stick to my regular shampoo and conditioner. This was a big-plus! We often pay for expensive treatments and then have to pay AGAIN for the special aftercare products! The fumes were not toxic so that was a big relief! The entire process is shorter than the Brazilian blow-wave; which takes about 2-4 hours. I was in and out of the salon in a 45 minutes!

My hair stayed pin straight until I washed it again. Upon washing, I noticed that my hair did have a strange smell. It wasn’t the same smell that my shampoo usually gives off. I towel dried my hair and there was ZERO frizz! I blow dried it and straightened it as per normal. Mind you, my whole blow-drying and straightening time was cut in half!

This treatment has definitely made my hair more manageable and silky!

Costs:


The treatment cost R600 plus R100 for the blow-dry. This left me with a total of R700 ($51). (Slightly cheaper than a Brazilian  blow-wave)
I had it done at the local salon in town. (C Jay’s Hair Salon, Louis Trichardt, Limpopo Province, South Africa )My overall rating: 4/5

71835d36dcb8710beee2e96374925500.png
Image not property of justkamini.com

Click here to access their website and read more about how the treatment works! They also have a video of the entire process! It’s so well explained that even the simple man on the street can understand it.

If you’re keen to try out this treatment, give your go-to hair salon a ring ASAP!

UPDATE

Although the treatment did allow for easier maintenance and less styling-time, I did find that my hair became limp over time and more prone to breakage. I did not go back for the treatment again. This is my personal experience, so please do speak to your hairdresser.

Disclaimer: I am not a hair expert or hair stylist. Speak to your hair salon/stylist before undergoing the treatment.
 
 

2 thoughts on ““The First Shampoo” Hair Treatment by Sweet Hair

Leave a comment