Life-Changing Products For Eczema

Eczema-prone skin is generally dry and appears dull and rough. During flare-ups, crisis areas appear displaying symptoms of extreme irritation with red flaky patches that first ooze then thicken and dry up. In infants, these areas are usually on the cheeks, forehead, torso and limbs. When children are a bit older, their large skin folds, such as inside the elbows and back of the knees, are affected. During flare-ups, their skin becomes inflamed and extremely itchy, and it affects every part of your daily life.

Since I was little I was riddled with eczema. I used to get it on my inner elbow when I was a toddler. It subsided and life continued as per normal and when I hit puberty OH MY GOODNESS, it was so bad …

My mouth area would get dry, red and burn and I would constantly try every cream to stop the burning and aid the dryness. Needless to say, my classmates did look at me weirdly whenever I had this red area around my mouth- which was always. My mum is a dietician and constantly told me I have a vitamin deficiency, so I was loaded up on multi-vitamins and it lessened it, but it never went away…

Shortly afterwards, I came to terms with the fact that nothing was going to help me and its okay if I have this red area around my mouth forever. No- really. I came to a point where I stopped caring but I still continued to use a cream that helped me, but I would have to apply it every 30 minutes but I couldn’t apply a thick layer because it would look oily.

I was then hit with terrible acne and my dermatologist put me on a strong dosage of Roaccutane. I was worried that my eczema would worsen because of the foreseen dryness of this dreaded medication, but much to my surprise- it went away!

Fast forward to my 20’s and my eczema is back. I now have a severe mould allergy that triggers anaphylaxis and eczema around my mouth and on my cheeks. How wonderful.

So, as you can see, I’ve had my fair share of struggles and today I am going to share a few inexpensive products that helped me cope with this chronic condition.

 

SBR Lipo Cream


SBR Lipocream fortifies the skin barrier by delivering a very high concentration of barrier-enhancing oils in an easy to apply creamy base. The formula allows a certain amount of water to pass through the skin, thus maintaining the proper balance. Be sure not to confuse this with the SBR Repair Cream which is much thicker and is more for very dry skin and the repair thereof.

My mum would apply this to my inner elbows as a toddler and it was an instant cure! However, this would help me in school but it would leave an oily layer on my face if I applied a thick layer. I would constantly have to apply a thin layer I found carrying a big tube of cream to school was a bit dorky so my parents got sample tubes for me which were so nifty! It definitely eased all of the discomforts I experienced. Thank you, mum & dad! ❤

6009681160014.jpg
Retails for R164 from Wellness Warehouse

Repivate Steroid Cream*

This cream has cortisone and it is what I use now when my allergies kick in. My dad is a doctor and prescribed this for me. It really does wonders for my skin and I never have to worry about eczema on my face again! However, it does cause skin-thinning and my skin does get more sensitive to sunlight. I have noticed that my mouth area has gotten a bit darker since the use of this cream but I combat this with Vitamin C creams and face masks.DEFINITE THUMBS UP!

sep_0007_repivate.jpg
Get Repivate from your local pharmacy after consulting a doctor

Sensodyne Toothpaste 

The credit for this one goes to my dermatologist. After I finished my course of Roaccutane eczema returned and I expressed my troubles. He suggested switching my toothpaste to Sensodyne. I vaguely remember using Colgate or Aquafresh at the time and ever since I did the switch, I will never buy another brand of toothpaste! It really worked for me. I did experiment to see if my dryness came back if I used another brand: whilst on vacation, I forgot my Sensodyne toothpaste at my flat and I used my mum’s. Dry skin and eczema for DAYS. My mum never had any reaction though. This will definitely work for you if you suffer from eczema on your cheek, chin or mouth area. Sensodyne also has such a wide range of toothpaste so you’re spoilt for choice! 10/10 RECOMMEND.

sensodyne_toothpaste
Available from all local stores

Annique Pamperlang Cream (Resque Crème)

My mum got me hooked on this. It claims to help relieve everyday skincare emergencies and has ZERO cortisone! Annique has harnessed the soothing power of Rooibos in Resque Crème, to help provide relief for many everyday skin ailments. I would apply this in school when I found my SBR cream to be too thick. It is not suitable for weepy eczema. The tube was nice and small and convenient to carry around. It provided absolute relief for short periods of time and I would simply reapply it. It had such a pleasant smell and consistency. I probably went through three tubes of this!

resque-creme-1444167656.jpg
Contact your nearest Annique Agent

Avène Thermal Spring Water

  • Clinically shown to soothe, soften and calm skin
  • Reduces skin sensitivity and helps restore skin balance
  • Soothes redness
  • Calms itching sensations
  • Safe for infants, children and adults
  • Neutral pH: 7.5
  • Low mineral content: Does not dry out the skin
  • Ideal calcium/magnesium ratio: Helps to improve skin texture
  • Rich in silicates: Softens skin
  • Rich in trace elements: Restores the epidermal barrier

I spray this on my face after I workout and after I come out of the shower. I use it before I apply primer when doing my makeup. It’s so easy to quickly hydrate and refresh my skin. It really calms my eczema and sensitive skin! It’s also excellent to soothe sunburn.

341697_in_pp.jpg

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser is a skin cleanser formulated for people with sensitive skin as well as skin with eczema. It has a gentle formula that will not dry skin or make skin feel tight. Eczema skin needs gentle care, and this face wash could be the best product to ease eczema symptoms because it is gentle and safe to use. It cleans skin deep down to the pores with its natural cleansing ingredients. It also has natural moisturizers that will protect skin from dryness and therefore a good product for daily cleansing for eczema sufferers. Regular use of Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser will make skin clearer and less inflamed plus there will be fewer break-outs and flare-ups since your skin is clean and protected. This is a holy-grail product for me!

Cetaphil-Gentle-Skin-Cleanser-2.jpg
*See your family doctor with regards to this cream

2 thoughts on “Life-Changing Products For Eczema

  1. Very interesting didn’t expect to see a post on eczema:) I do like your recommendations and the sendodyne recommendation is new. I have eczema and have been using combination of lipo cream and sometimes a brand with cortisone. (It comes out on my neck these days as i wear my hair open I think). These cream I use all belong to my little baby who has the worse eczema and she gets checked out regularly by her doc . Thanks for sharing !

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading! ❤️😃 I cover all beauty-related matters, including skincare. The sensodyne recommendation would mostly work if you have eczema on the larger mouth area. Do give your little one a shot at the annique resque creme! It really does wonders 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment